Sottoguda is one of the most beautiful villages in Italy from 2016 together with Palue. It is a treasure at the foot of the Queen of the Dolomites, the Marmolada, widget in between the cliff of the Serrai Park and the bosch di faièr, one of the highest beech forests in Europe.
In this ancient hamlet the time seems to stop; among its narrow streets full of authentic views, there are a lot of tabièi, the barns in wood once used for the shelter of cattle and hay and today skilfully restored and decorated with decorations made by hand by local craftsmen.
This territory is rich in natural raw materials such as wood and iron and the tradition of the materials processing is handed down from generation to generation.
In Sottoguda it is possible to admire the works created by the craftsman and to visit their shops: iron animals, goblins carved in wood, beech jewels and wonderful crystals await you for a unique experience between tradition and current events.
The small of Sottoguda’s church is dedicated to Saints Fabiano, Sebastiano and Rocco and is one of the most caracteristicas building in this hamlet. On its main face there are the figures of the three saints and it was built for a vow made by the population spared from a plague epidemic.
Consecrated in 1486, when the village had only a dozen houses, it survived a fire in 1881 and a terrible avalanche in 1916. The bell tower is original from 1550 and the small altar dates back to 1616.
The ancient Carlo Delcroix building, in front of the church, was the elementary school and an emergency refuge during the First World War.
Today here is the Tourist Info Point, which is available to guests for information on the tourist, gastronomic, cultural and hospitality offer of Rocca Pietore.
In Sottoguda there is also the thematic path “La Via della Meditazione”, a ring of about 2 km inside the beech forest, made by the inhabitants of the village, with some phrases dedicated to the mountains.